This Lotion Smells Like Fire, or “How To Make Lotion”

Now, this lotion that I’m going to share with you doesn’t actually smell like fire, but that’s what one of my friends little boys said after he put Vicks Vapor Rub all over his face. “This lotion smells like fire!” Yeah, I imagine it would. I imagine his nose was runny for a while too. For some sick reason I never get tired of the lotion smells like fire line.

This lotion doesn’t have any fire in it. It’s pure and simple and baby friendly. I had seen a lot of lotion recipes online, but I never did have all the right ingredients at the right time. So I made this up one day during Amelia’s naptime.

It’s a very precise recipe.

Whipped Shea Butter

Scoop some shea butter into a bowl. Add some coconut oil.

lotion ingredients

Soften these two ingredients by microwaving very gently, or placing the bowl into a bowl of hot water. Add a squeeze of sweet almond oil.

Now dump the liquid into your KitchenAid mixer and whip it, whip it good.

You can’t really tell from the photo, but I used the whisk attachment that came with my blender. It takes at least 5 minutes, but the oils start to turn white. As the air is whipped in, it thickens up just like whipped cream does. If you’ve ever made homemade whipped cream, you can make whipped shea butter. Even if you haven’t ever made whipped cream, you can make whipped shea butter. Otherwise known as…lotion that doesn’t smell like fire.

Here’s my finished product.

This was my second batch. The first was a little too stiff – not enough almond oil. It worked fine, I just had to soften it up in my hands a bit before I could rub it on Amelia. This batch is just about right, but it’s teetering dangerously close to too runny. It’s perfect if I store it in the fridge. Which is a good idea anyway, to prevent the growth of green fuzzies.

And there you have it folks! Lotion.

 

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

