Spinach, anyone?

That’s a pretty appealing title, eh? I do what I can.

Today, in honor of St. Patrick’s Day (and as a nod to the golden arches) I made myself a special shamrock shake. Well, smoothie. I had kind of gotten out of the habit of putting spinach in smoothies, but today was a good day to start again.

Hello, spinach. Hello, yogurt. Hello, wonderful stick blender.

spinach smoothie

 

All good smoothies (at HuYoung Heaven) start with plain yogurt, a banana, and a splash of milk. Most good smoothies also include frozen fruit. Some good smoothies include peanut butter, but not this one. Not with the frozen pineapple and mango. That’s sick, why would you think that?

This good smoothie had a healthy dose of spinach in it. Peep out that awesome green color!

 

stick blender smoothie

So, easy healthy smoothie: Yogurt, banana, milk, handful of frozen fruit mix, spinach. Did I forget anything? Uh, no.

Deliciousness. I love how you can’t even taste the spinach. Although, if you don’t blend it up well enough, you can chew the spinach. Lesson learned. Blend away.

So since I had spinach in my snack today, does that mean I can count the green peppers and onions on my homemade pizza as my vegetable for dinner? Oh, what if there were spinach on the pizza too? Bonus! And double bonus, there was spinach in the Tuscan Soup I had for lunch. Wow, perhaps I should look into some variety for my vegetables. But what’s a girl to do when her bargain shopping husband brings home a giant box of organic spinach for $1? Channel your inner Popeye, that’s what.

Here’s a little bonus Amelia pic for you. Helping Mama make a smoothie.

Blend, Mama, blend!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

