Recipe: Peanut Butter Granola

Oh man, you are gonna thank me for this recipe. It is, quite simply, the best. Unless you’re allergic to peanuts, in which case….that sucks.

I don’t know where my mom found this recipe, but find it she did, and we’ve been enjoying it ever since. Dave requested ‘peanut butter nola’ about 5 times in the last 2 days, so I made him a batch yesterday.

Ingredients:

  • 1 stick butter
  • 1 cup honey
  • 1 cup peanut butter
  • 7 cups oats

Melt the butter, peanut butter and honey together in a large pot.

peanut butter granola

I have no idea why it looks like there is milk in there. I swear there isn’t. Side note: I substituted 1 cup of sugar + 1/4 cup water for the honey. Honey is expensive, yo. Mama’s on a budget.

Remove from heat and stir in the oats.

peanut butter granola

Bake on a cookie sheet at 350 degrees for 20ish minutes, stirring once. We like our ‘nola soft and chewy so 20 minutes is just right for us. See how it’s just starting to get dry around the edges? Feel free to bake yours longer if you like a crunchier granola.

peanut butter granola

In addition to chewy, we like it clumpy, so I stir veeerrry gently. Now you can eat it hot out of the oven, or let it cool it cool a bit and store in an airtight container. Try some with milk for breakfast. Or throw in some dried fruit and call it trail mix. You can’t go wrong either way. Give some to your husband, sister, mother, grandfather, or tax accountant…they’ll love you forever. I promise.

    • Karen Grubb
    • February 23rd, 2011

    I’m going to try it!

      • Ali
      • February 23rd, 2011

      Let me know how you like it!

    • mom
    • February 23rd, 2011

    I’m thinking….where did that recipe come from? Maybe it’s just going to have to be called a “VanGilder Family Recipe”. Sounds good to me.

Leave a Reply

