My Housework Schedule, or Keeping My Head Above Water

After this was done, Ma began the work that belonged to that day. Each day had its own proper work. Ma used to say:

  • “Wash on Monday
  • Iron on Tuesday
  • Mend on Wednesday
  • Churn on Thursday
  • Clean on Friday
  • Bake on Saturday
  • Rest on Sunday”

Laura liked the churning and the baking days best of all the week.

I love Little House on the Prairie. The above expert is from Little House in the Big Woods. A few weeks ago I got sick of always feeling behind in the housework, so I implemented a little schedule of my own. It reminded me of the housework ditty from Little House, so I had to dig out my books and look it up. Here’s my modern version

  • De-clutter and Dust on Monday
  • Sweep and Mop on Tuesday
  • Vacuum on Wednesday
  • Laundry on Thursday
  • Clean Kitchen and Sweep on Friday
  • Clean Bathrooms on Saturday
  • Rest on Sunday

I sure am glad I don’t have to devote three days to laundry like Ma did. Yikes.

My system is working out pretty well so far. I especially like Monday’s De-clutter and Dust. It’s perfect for getting the house back in order after the weekend. Then it makes sense to get all that dust up off the floor the next day. Other than that, my “chores” are completely random. But it helps to have a small goal for each day. Otherwise I run around caring for the munchkin, switching laundry, cleaning one bathroom, making dinner, and feeling all day like I’m not getting everything done.

This is good. Bite sized housework. It works for me. What works for you?

    • Sara
    • February 10th, 2011

    I enjoyed reading your blog and keeping up with your daily life and thoughts and with precious Amelia and her latest feats! Just wish we lived closer and can pop in for a visit and hold Amelia!

  1. I was searching for ma’s house work schedule and found this post! I’m going to try for something similar. I’m glad I’m not the only one!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

