The dark and dreary doldrums

Oh, the winter doldrums. Rain. Wind. Clouds. Mud. Gloom. Cranky baby.

Do babies realize when the world is colorless and drab? Does it affect them like it does adults?

There’s a cranky baby living at my house this week. I think her stomach is bothering her. Or maybe she’s teething. Aren’t all new parents supposed to blame all their baby’s maladies on teething? Whatever it is, she ain’t happy about it. And she’s definitely not going to sleep through it. All day long it’s been, “Mama hold me. No, lay me on my play mat. No, I changed my mind, I want to swing. NO, I said feed me! Do NOT walk away from me, Mama!” Of course, it’s not easy to interpret all these commands when they all come in some form of “AAAAaaaaaaaaa.”

On days like these I remember a blog post I read on (in)courage back when Amelia was only a few weeks old. I bookmarked it then because I knew I would need it one day. There was a specific quote that stuck out to me. From Brother Lawrence, a 17th century monk that I had never heard of. But I love this quote of his anyway. And since he has never heard of me either, we’re even.

“We ought not to be weary of doing little things for the love of God, who regards not the greatness of the work, but the love with which it is performed.”

I think I’m going to print this out today and tape it to my forehead. Or better yet, Amelia’s. I’ll be sure to see it all day long that way.

 

    • Naomi VanGilder
    • January 25th, 2011

    Great quote, Ali. And it applies to so many things in life.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

