Saving Money: Product Swap

I haven’t been working since the baby was born, and I have to say: I LOVE IT. But it does require a little finessing of the budget. I’m so thankful that I get to stay home with Amelia that I don’t even mind. Here’s my new favorite way to save money : Product Swapping.

A friend gave me some of these baby products that her sister makes. Wow. I am in love with this Coconut Balm. In. love.

I first used it on Amelia when her little bottom looked irritated. Cleared it right up. Next I put some in her neck folds when it was starting to get red and smell funky in there. Again, cleared it right up. When her cheeks started getting chapped from all drool, all the time guess what cleared it right up. Yup. This stuff. We have one soft skinned coconut smelling baby. And we love it.

So I told my friend how much we love “The Coconut” as we call it, and she said she was glad. Then one day she commented on a hat I had made for Amelia and said that she bet her sister would like one for her baby. And thus the product swap was born. I crocheted her a little hat for her girl, and she gave me another jar of coconut balm and a eucalyptus balm (which I haven’t tried yet, but smells great). Now we’ve got enough of The Coconut to last us another 4 months or so. Bonus.

My other exciting swap is with my friend Sarah. She’s a great photographer and did Amelia’s newborn pics for us. She needed a few crocheted props for her photography business, and I always need some more great photos of my baby. So you guessed it….we swapped. Not to brag on both of us, but doesn’t this sweet little boy look so cute? You can check out more of her work at www.clorephotography.com I can’t wait for Amelia’s next photo shoot with her.

Anyone else out there want to swap? I wonder if Target will accept crocheted items as payment…..

    • esther
    • January 20th, 2011

    great idea Ali! I think Amelia’s chapped cheeks is from all the kisses she receives too 🙂

    • Kali
    • January 20th, 2011

    Oo, me! I want to swap! Caroline is in the market for a new hat from Miss Ali. I, however, have no creative skills whatsoever. Do you accept food as payment? Babysitting? Pick your poison…and if I have a recipe…it’s yours.

    • Sarahannmitch@yahoo.com
    • January 21st, 2011

    Ooooooh, what a great photo. 🙂 We’re so smart to swap. Oh, and humble. Geeze, don’t forget humble!

  1. Thanks for the nice post on the balm! We absolutely love the hat! I just posted a picture of Lyric wearing it. Thanks again! 🙂 http://www.thenourishednest.com/2011/01/happy-1-week-birthday.html

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

