Cloth Wipes

Folding all these little cloth wipes makes me happy.

Happy because:

a) my mom made them

and

b) I know they are gentle on Amelia’s skin

and

c) they are free. Did I mention my mom made them? They cost me absolutely nothing. In fact, they probably cost her nothing as well, because she made them out of scrap fabric.

I love, love, love my cloth wipes. I keep a handful in a wipe warmer ($4 on clearance) with some homemade wipe solution and the rest of them in a drawer in the changing table.

When the warmer is empty, I throw in some fresh solution and another handful of wipes and we are good to go. Dirty wipes go in the dirty diaper bucket and get washed along with the diapers. Couldn’t be easier.

Here are the details for you other crunchy moms 🙂

Wipes

  • 8″ square
  • Flannel
  • Serged edges

Wipes Solution

  • 1-2 cups water
  • 2-3 drops Tea Tree Oil
  • 2-3 drops Calendula Oil

To make the solution I just carry the warmer over to the sink, run some warm water in it, dash in the oils, and swirl it around with my finger. I can even do it with the baby in one arm. If I am really pressed for time, or the baby is screaming, I just fill the warmer with water. Remember your highschool chemistry? Water is a universal solvent. It’s really all you need. I add the Tea Tree Oil as an anti-fungal and to keep the water fresh. Calendula Oil is healing and soothing to the skin, but you can definitely leave them out. Check the interwebs for more solution recipes. But please, try the cloth wipes. You’ll love them.

And just in case you don’t believe me, I asked Amelia what she thought.

Cloth wipes?

Oh yeah.

Disposable wipes?

Clearly, not a fan.

    • Kali
    • December 20th, 2010

    You make it seem so easy…

    • Dana
    • December 20th, 2010

    I think you remembered how to blog quite well…..

  1. We use cloth wipes too! Love them. We just bought some baby washcloths and are using those. But, we still use disposable wipes when out and about. Are you loving cloth diapers? We are.

      • Ali
      • December 23rd, 2010

      Oh yeah, we use disposable wipes (and diapers) when we are out and about. And overnight too, until recently. But I honestly have fewer leaks with the cloth dipes than the disposables overnight. I just have to add more absorption to the daytime cloth diaper.
      How are you diapers on bulk? I find that in order to avoid leaks, I have to stuff the cloth diaper so full it gets ridiculous. Sometimes Amelia’s clothes will barely snap. But it’s the only way to hold in all that liquid during a 3 hour nap….

  1. December 21st, 2010
    Trackback from : Diaper And Wipe

Leave a Reply

