Hint of Fall

Here at HuYoung Heaven we are Very Big Fans of Fall. Last night we attempted to have our first fall bonfire of the year, but it got rained out. Bummer. Do-over next week. So what do you do on a rainy afternoon when you no longer have to worry about last minute preparations for a bonfire?

Make a fall wreath.

I’ve been feeling very crafty lately (at least for me) and stumbled upon this awesome wreath while cruising around blogland. It was a great excuse to buy a glue gun….for only $2.50! Who knew they were that cheap? I should have had one years ago. I bought a $1 wreath from the dollar store, found an old, shaggy copy of David Copperfield on the bookshelf, and went to work. Dave even joined in the fun. I had him tear out the pages because I couldn’t bear to do it myself. Turns out he’s pretty handy with a glue gun too.

I think it turned out quite nicely for $1/1 hour craft.

Are you decorating for Fall yet?

    • grandma
    • September 11th, 2010

    Very nice, Ali & Dave – you are very creative people.

    • amber
    • September 11th, 2010

    Seriously…that is so cute!!! You are so crafty. Grant was so bummed about last night, he asked us all to start praying for the rain to stop!

      • Ali
      • September 11th, 2010

      Awww, poor guy! We were pretty bummed too. I know it’s a school night for the kiddos, but we are trying to reschedule for Tuesday or Wednesday night this week. If that doesn’t work out, we might be bringing your kids some marshmallows…we have WAY too many right now πŸ™‚

    • Karen Grubb
    • September 11th, 2010

    Wonder if I could do that with the Northern Star to decorate the lab?
    Yours turned out great!

      • Ali
      • September 11th, 2010

      Karen! Great to hear from you! So you’re still in the lab, eh? You could definitely make one out the Star. By the way, I still think of you every time I hear the words “Robert Plant.” πŸ™‚

    • Kayla
    • September 13th, 2010

    Ali, I love that! It is so cute! I may have to copy you =)

    • Emma
    • September 14th, 2010

    The only fall decorating I have been doing is helping decorate the neighbors house.It has a lot of fake spider webs.And lots of other things that i can’t explain.

  1. I love this! I’m going to try making one for my parents’ house with pages from an old Baptist hymnal. [they’re church musicians]

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

