How to refinish your old chairs

Before:

After:

Can you see the improvement? After another fruitless morning of sanding and scrubbing (without running to Home Depot for some stronger chemicals), I broke down and looked at Craigslist. My intent was to kill time while waiting for the mailman to bring me my Home Depot gift card. But then I started looking for CLEAN wooden chairs that I could repaint without all the trouble I’m having with mine.

Enter this table.  I didn’t mean to find it for a ridiculously low price yesterday. I did mean to buy it once I emailed the link to Dave and he called immediately to ask if I had called on it yet. We’ve been thinking about buying (new) this exact table for about 3 years. When the owners said that they could also deliver the table (last night! same day delivery!) we knew it was meant to be. No more scrubbing gunk off of old chairs. Our new, used table is only 2-3 years old…no gunk allowed.

So there you have it. If you’re interested in some sturdy, gunky chairs…..you can find them on Craigslist.

    • Kali
    • August 28th, 2010

    Beautiful! I laughed out loud when I read your title and looked at the pictures – and promptly shared it with Dan. Good find! I’ll have to come see it in person very soon.

    • Suzanne Rohloff
    • August 29th, 2010

    Good call, Ali! My chairs still need dipping and refinishing. Should I look on Craig’s List for Ethan Allen to match my buffet??

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

