Projects…

….I have a few.

The elephant art is finished and waiting to be hung

But first we have to paint the nursery walls.

The bench for the nursery is sanded and ready to be primed and painted, but first we need the mailman to bring us our Home Depot Gift card. Gotta love those credit card points!

Before:

After:

Yes, I’m aware that the bench needs new baskets too. Since I only paid $7.50 for this bench at an antique store, I’m willing to buy new baskets.

My other big project is our dining room chairs. They’re solid wood, but as old as Dave. In fact, you can see them in lots of home videos of Dave and his family. Look, there’s 3 year old Dave having birthday cake  – at the same table and chairs we use today. Needless to say, they need a little touching up. I thought it would be (relatively) easy to just sand, prime, and paint them. The sanding, however, is not going so well. Whatever the chairs’ finish used to be is now all gunky and tacky. I can almost scrape it off in areas. It goos up the sandpaper and makes me call it bad names.

So I’m not sure about the chairs. I think I’ll experiment on the one that I partially sanded. Gonna try just primer and paint with little to no sanding. It can’t look worse than it already does. And if it does for some reason look terrible, I’ll just have to sand it back down.

See how it’s all gunky on the knobs? What is that??

My last ongoing project is much less labor intensive, but still time consuming. I’m making a braided rag rug for the nursery. Sounds dorky, I know, but it’s coming out cute. This is the fabric for it.

And this is the fabric after I cut it all up into 1.5″ strips. That was fun.

Here’s where I was a few days ago. I’m either getting faster at braiding and sewing, or just spending more time watching tv (ie working on the rug.) It’s quite a bit bigger than this now.

And that’s all the time we have for today folks! Today’s post was brought to you by the letters D I Y.

Next project….dinner.

    • Kelly G.
    • August 26th, 2010

    I just painted my girls’ 1980s-terrific beds…. sanded where possible, used TSP and wiped them down good (that will help with some of the junk), used Zinzer primer (supposed to work on glossy surfaces) and then home depots paint and primer in one (next time I think I would just spray paint instead of brush on, as I ended up doing a top coat of spray paint too). The TSP and the Zinzer primer are supposed to eliminate the need to sand according to some of the crafty blogs that I read. I am super interested in the braided rug. Did you find a tutorial somewhere or are you just making it up as you go along?

    • Kelly G.
    • August 26th, 2010

    TSP is at walmart and Home Depot both. Also, try a sanding block instead of sand paper, they are kind of flexible and just seem to get in grooves easier and last longer. Good luck! I am on the lookout for solid, strong dining room chairs to paint up. We have some old school house chairs that I love the look of, but aren’t too sturdy…

  1. Did you make that picture? Martha Who? I can’t wait to see the nursery…and the baby of course. I told Dave last week we have an attic full of baby stuff, let me know if you need anything and I will send Clay up!

  1. September 23rd, 2010

Leave a Reply

