A little of this and that…and a lot of chocolate cake

It’s been a while since I blogged so I have lots of thoughts rolling around in my brain. Here are some of them.

1. Last week the doctor told me that I had lost a pound, but the baby was still measuring “perfect.” Who loses weight while they’re pregnant? My stomach is pretty squished these days, so I’ve been trying to eat more frequently and make sure that the foods I’m eating are nutrient dense so that our little chalupa continues to grow.

2. Which is why I made a chocolate cherry cake today. Nutrient dense indeed. A little old lady from church used to make this cake for potlucks and I found myself thinking of it recently. I couldn’t find my recipe for it, but here’s the allrecipes version which turned out very similar, if not exactly the same.

3. I told Dave he could share some of this cake with his friends at work, but now I’m rethinking that stance. I know 2 people shouldn’t eat a whole 9×13 cake, but that doesn’t mean we won’t.

4. Jack is still scared of our new floors. I’d say he’s about 67% of the way back to his normal self. He still gets stuck on his bed occasionally and needs encouragement to make it to the back door to go out. And while he can (and sometimes does) walk across the floor like a normal dog, he prefers to make a lunging start and send himself skidding across the floor to his destination. Which only makes him more afraid. Dogs are weird.

5. I am obsessed with this website ashleyannphotography.com/blog I’ve spent a lot of time lately trying to read every word on this dang website. I prefer to think of it as time invested rather than time wasted because I have found tons of great project ideas for the nursery. I want to use her scrapbook paper art idea (found here) to make a piece of art to hang over the crib. I’m thinking of copying this painting from Land of Nod; changing the colors to match our nursery of course.

I can’t wait to buy the scrapbook paper for this project. And read more of Ashley Ann’s archives.

    • Kali
    • August 13th, 2010

    Point #3 is precisely why Dan gained baby weight right along with me 🙂 I hope you went for it and kept the cake for yourselves!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

