Raisin Bran – a new sleep aid

This morning I ate a bowl of raisin bran at 5am. Then I went back to sleep for 3.5 hours.

The end.

Wait.

I feel like there was something else I wanted to say about that. Oh yeah.

Dave had to leave for work at 5:15 this morning, which meant he woke up at 4:30. Which meant that I woke up at 4:30. Sleep is elusive these days. Our bed is getting more and more uncomfortable. I don’t think it has anything to do with being 30 weeks pregnant and 23 pounds heavier than I used to be. Or the fact that I can only sleep on one side for an hour before it gets sore, then I have to heave myself over to the other side, readjust my 3 pillows, and start again. Nope, it’s definitely the bed.

I lay in bed from 4:30-5 listening to Dave get ready for work. I knew it was pointless to try to go back to sleep right away, so I just kind of hung out with Dave since I won’t see him til later tonight. Also, because I was hungry. HUNGRY. I finally gave in at 5 and fixed myself a bowl of cereal in the dark. I’m sorry I ripped the box a little, honey, I was just so hungry! And it was dark!

When Dave finally left for work, I finished my (2nd) bowl of cereal and went back to bed. Heaven. That raisin bran is something else. I slept like a baby for the next 3.5 hours and only woke to adjust my pillows once. I don’t think it had anything to do with having the whole bed and 4 pillows all to myself.  Nope, it was the raisin bran. I think I’m going to write them a thank you note.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

