Frogs and Snails and Puppy Dog Tails

….that’s what little boys are made of.

We are so thrilled about having a boy. Couldn’t be happier. I’ll never forget the joy on Dave’s face as he shook the doctor’s hand when she said, “It’s a boy!” Of course, he may have just been happy to be right. After all, he did predict that it would be a boy.

I’m still a smidge skeptical that baby is a boy. Due in part, yes, to my skeptical nature, but also because the doctor originally said, “Looks like a girl.”

So I’m laying there on my back, cold gel on my stomach, and the doctor is trying to get a good shot of the baby. She says nothing until, “Hmmm, looks like a girl.” Very flat delivery, not much excitement or confidence. Dave and I just look at each other unsurely.

Then, “No, wait, looks like a boy.” Just a touch of confidence this time. She continues to look for a better angle and say, “Hmmm….” while looking unsure.

“So it’s a boy?” I ask her.

“Probably.”

“You’re not really convincing me here,” I tell her. (Was that rude?)

Now she gets serious with the ultrasound wand thing, and after a minute, “Ok, I’m 85% sure it’s a boy. Hmmmm….whoa! Definitely a boy.”

This is where Dave starts fist pumping and shaking the doctor’s hand. She wraps up the ultrasound after that, hands me some kleenex for the gel, prints us out a few pictures, and then is on her merry way.

“It’s a boy!” Dave keeps saying to me.

So, do you believe it?

    • Amber
    • April 30th, 2010

    I remember when they told be Garrett was a boy, Clay was jumping up and down. I wouldn’t let him go w/ me to the ultra sounds when I found out for the other 2. I knew if they said boy I would cry and I didn’t want to see that happy face while I was in tears. It sounds awful I know, but wait till your 3rd boy and we will talk! Of course your baby is a boy, have you looked out your front door…there was NO chance that baby was a girl. We could not be happier for you and Dave!

    • Emma
    • May 1st, 2010

    Yes,i think it was rude to say,”you’re not really convincing me here”,.Are you hoping that your little munchkin will like frogs like his Antie Emma does?Oh and i hope that he doesn’t like snails because they are totally disgusting.

    • Lindsey Griffith
    • May 4th, 2010

    Congrats!

    • Nate VG
    • May 4th, 2010

    Hmmmmm still think its gonna be a girl, don’t know why, just think it’s gonna be a girl……..congrats though

    • valerie
    • May 5th, 2010

    horray! boys are so fun! ( and so are girls! so either way you are set! 🙂

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

