Losing my mind

When I found out I was pregnant I thought it was going to be all fun and games. Compared to doing all the adoption paperwork, I thought pregnancy would be a breeze. I remember thinking, “All I have to do is lay around and grow this baby, pick a hospital, and then deliver.”

Only I hadn’t figured on losing my mind. Seriously, pregnancy brain is making me crazy. I’ve always been proud of my cognitive abilities, but lately I can’t even remember what I had planned to make for dinner, let alone whether or not we had invited people over to eat it with us. Did I already wash my hair tonight? Was that yesterday that I walked Jack or was that today?

My brain is so cluttered with baby research that I’m making myself even more crazy. Do we want a jogging stroller or a regular 4 wheeled stroller? What kind of cloth diapers are best? Do I like the Maya Wrap or the Moby Wrap better? Why am I waking up at night thinking about strollers???

In other news, I haven’t buttoned my pants for days. I’ve been wearing this BeBand from Target and it works like a charm. No, that is not my belly.

The only problem with this band is that it makes me HOT. It will hold up your unbuttoned pants, but it will also raise your core temperature by about 5,000 degrees. But it makes your regular jeans feel like stretchy pants, and that, ladies and gentlemen, is worth it. And so is investing in a good deodorant.

So far I’m enjoying every minute of being pregnant, even the minutes where I have to run to the bathroom 30 minutes after I just went. I even think my ankles may have swollen (a teensy bit) after being on my feet a lot today. It may just be in my head, but it’s a good excuse for laying on the couch with my feet propped up and doing more stroller research.

    • Emma
    • April 12th, 2010

    I know what you can do instead of researching strollers.Make some ity baby socks and other cute little baby clothes.

    • van gilder fam
    • April 12th, 2010

    well, who’s stomach is it? It even looks like your hand. At least your not preg, due in July, and living in AZ. 1984 was a hot summer! But worth it all 🙂 You’ll get through this…maybe even more than once.
    love you, mom

    • Grandma
    • April 15th, 2010

    Do you remember fanning me for hot flashes – in Sun City Vistoso? Maybe that’s how your 5000 degrees feels – I still have them, by the way. And I often wish you were here to fan me!

    So glad your pregnancy is going along well – don’t worry about losing your mind – all will soon be normal again.

    Love reading your blogs.

    Love, grandma

      • Ali
      • April 15th, 2010

      Grandma, maybe you should come here and fan me! Fair is fair you know. We’ll save the guest room for you, and you can even lay out on the back porch and work on your tan when you’re not fanning me 🙂

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

