Adoption Update

I know some of you have been wondering what’s happening with our adoption.  And by some, I mean the 2 or 3 of you that remember our adoption announcement from way back in December.

Well here’s what happened.

This happened.

See that itty bitty bump in my belly? That’s the baby.  The one we thought we might never conceive. Ok, that’s a little drastic, but honestly, it wasn’t looking good. Needless to say, we were very shocked to find out I was pregnant. And happy. And shocked. And elated.

I spent my first trimester trying not to throw up, trying not to worry about another miscarriage, and trying to figure out what we should do about adopting.

We’ve decided to put the adoption on hold for now. The baby I’m carrying is due Oct 2, and if we were adopting, that baby would be coming home sometime around the end of the year as well. Now that Ethiopia is requiring adoptive parents to take 2 trips over there, it just all became too much. As much as I’d love 2 babies at once, I don’t like the thought of leaving 1, visiting the other for a week, then coming home and waiting 2 or 3 months til we can go back and pick up the other. Are you overwhelmed yet? I know I was.

We would still love to adopt in the future. We’ve already done all the agency research, we have a lot paperwork done, and we know so much more now than we did when we started. I think we’ll be pretty well prepared to start back up sometime in 2011.

But meanwhile, we have shifted gears to expecting a baby the old fashioned way. Which means it’s about time for me to go eat something again. This is one hungry baby.

  1. Good luck!! My parents couldn’t have a baby so they had to adopt. I hope everything works out for you 🙂

  2. congratulations! How exciting!

    • Kali Johnston
    • April 6th, 2010

    Yay!!! A baby bump picture! Let me know when you’re ready for the elastic waist bands 🙂 So so so happy for you guys.

    • Jenna
    • April 6th, 2010

    You have such a cute lil baby bump! Love it! SO excited for you guys!

    • annie jones
    • April 6th, 2010

    you are gonna be a cute pregnant lady! cant wait to see yall!

    • thesweetestthingfamily
    • April 6th, 2010

    Congratulations!!

    • Emma
    • April 7th, 2010

    You do have a tiny baby bump!i was starting to wonder if you had one yet.I can’t wait to know what it is!

  3. Congrats! I just ran across David’s adoption email announcement in my inbox again and thought I should check-in on the blog. This is great news!

    Did you know that Rebekah and I are expecting in October, too. I guess it’s a small world… or city.

    Congrats again and I hope everything goes smoothly from here ’til October!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

