Crochet Food

Food is a favorite here at HuYoung Heaven. We love to cook it, eat it, talk about it, take pictures of it, and….play with it.

Yesterday I discovered the joys of crocheting play food. Food and crochet – together at last!

This lemon and lime combo were my first attempt and I think they turned out pretty well.  Just look at that little lime all cuddled up to the bananas!

There is a plethora of knit and crochet food patterns on the internet. Fruit today, cupcakes tomorrow.

My new handmade toy mania fits in nicely with our philosophy on “baby stuff.” We want to raise our kids without all the “necessities” that are pushed on today’s parents.

  • Baby monitor: don’t need it; we have a small house.
  • Disposable diapers: handy, yes, but 500 years in the landfill. And have you seen how cute cloth diapers are these days?
  • Diaper Pail: We have a 5 gallon bucket

I’m being a little facetious here but you get my drift. If I can make cute, safe toys for my kids and avoid cluttering up my house with brightly colored plastic ones then I’m all for it.

But please don’t come to my house in a few years and count up all the plastic toys we have – I’m sure it will be substantially more than I think  🙂

    • Emma
    • April 7th, 2010

    Oh those lime ones are so cute!But why did have to bring up bananas?You know i hate them sis.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

