Cracker Confusion

Last week Dave and I went to the grocery store together. I almost alerted the media because this never happens. And for good reason too. Nothing brings on a good marital spat like a trip to Kroger.

We were in the cracker aisle when we decided to grab some Saltines to go with the soup that was simmering at home.

“Should we get the regular or whole wheat?” Dave asked.

After some (lengthy) discussion, we decided on regular saltines (whole wheat is just too healthy) and I grabbed a box of Kroger brand saltines and put them in the cart.

“Wait, do we want that brand? These Nabisco Premium crackers look good.” Dave again.

“Those are almost twice as much. We probably won’t eat more than 1 sleeve of them anyway. Kroger brand is fine.”  I’m always the voice of reason.

“What about these Zestas? These look good, and they’re only a little more than the Kroger brand.”

“Fine, just get them. We’ve got about 12 more aisles to go, and I’d like to get out of here before midnight.” I’m always so nice. What I really meant was “Shut up and let me get groceries like I do every week so we can go home and eat and watch the Olympics.”

The crackers (finally!) were in the cart and we moved on to the ice cream aisle. Don’t even get me started on how long it takes to agree on ice cream.

Later that night, we were eating dinner when I noticed that my saltine looked a little darker than I thought it should. “Does this cracker look brown to you? Is it burnt?” I asked Dave.

Dave looked at his own crackers, then at the box. “Ummm, we bought whole wheat crackers after all, honey. Sorry.”

We bought them?  You were the one who wanted those.”

“Well you put them in the cart!”

“No, I was putting the other ones back……”

Etc. etc. etc.

We finally stopped and laughed at ourselves. “Ah, another successful trip to the grocery store.”

On a happy note, the whole wheat saltines really are pretty good. You should try them next time you want regular.

    • Emma
    • February 22nd, 2010

    I bet Dave switched the crackers when you weren’t looking.Did you ever decide on a ice cream?

      • Ali
      • February 22nd, 2010

      Yep, we got strawberry ice cream 🙂

    • Dad
    • February 23rd, 2010

    I think you’re both crackers!

    • Nate VG
    • February 23rd, 2010

    Whole Wheat Saltines? Yuck!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

