The Long Winter part II

I need this stove.  Look, a hot water reservoir on the right!  And a warming oven!


And a firebox! I’m pretty excited about the firebox. It’s where you build the fire. Because this isn’t just any old stove — it’s a wood stove.

Can you tell I’ve been reading Little House on the Prairie lately? Look at the cooking surface where Ma makes a pot of beans for dinner! Later she adds molasses and salt pork and throws the beans into the oven to make baked beans for supper. I can do that!

I’m not sure I could make bread in that oven, but baked beans I can handle. Cake might be tricky, but you know what? I’m not planning on getting rid of my electric oven, just adding this one.

It will look perfect in the dining room. No, there won’t be any room for the table, but that’s ok.  We’ll be so toasty warm we won’t even care that we have to eat on the floor.

Speaking of the floor, the vinyl in the dining room might present a problem. So I guess we’ll rip that out and replace it with something a little more flame retardant and less likely to melt. Should be simple.

And then…..a new wood cook stove! I’m sure it will really increase the value of our home in this suburban neighborhood.


    • Kelly G.
    • February 14th, 2010

    My parents have my grandma’s old wood cookstove in their basement. They got if after she died and none of his other siblings wanted it. It is not hooked up right now, but dad says it would be usuable with just a little work. I cannot tell you how many times i have envisioned a cabin in the woods, containing that stove that I could escape to… Just like Little House… 🙂 Maybe someday I will be able to have a place I can use it. So I understand your need for a wood stove.

    • Sherry
    • February 15th, 2010

    Hi Ali, I think I need that stove too! Does it count that Steph and I have been reading the “Little House” books too!?

  1. I had a friend in high school whose parents living was earned by buying and selling old stoves, just like that one. Her house was full of them, at least twenty at a time. I wish I had the knowledge to appreciate them then, because they are pretty nifty.

    • van gilder fam
    • February 16th, 2010

    I don’t think i would like to have eat on the floor. But it would be fun to have that stove.I’m reading Harry Potter right now. And i guess you are reading Little House.
    Love,
    Emma

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

