The Long Winter

Something about all this snow we’re having this year is messing with me.  It’s actually making me feel like we are having winter. Real, honest to goodness winter. I think we’ve had 4 real snows this winter. And by real, I mean “deep enough to track a cat.”

When I was a kid, there was an elderly couple at church that could predict how many snowfalls we would have each winter. Seriously. They were never off by more than 1 or 2. They used an old Indian trick – something to do with the moon I think. I really can’t remember. But anyway, the snowfall only counted if it was deep enough to track a cat.

Remember in The Long Winter when the old Indian comes into town and warns everyone that it is going to be a hard winter? He says that every 7th winter is hard, and that every 21st winter is especially hard. And he was right. That winter (a 21st) was harsh.

I think those Indians were on to something.

Now I really want to know what that snowfall prediction trick is! Just googled it….nothing. I can’t remember the last time google failed me like this. Mom? Do you remember? Now I’m not going to be able to sleep tonight.  I need to know how harsh this southern winter is going to be.

    • Mom
    • February 9th, 2010

    Remember their names? Paul and Blondel (don’t hear Blondel too much-kind of a good name?) it took both dad and i to get this. it’s kind of early for all this brain activity. you start with the first trackable snow, then count the number of days until the next full moon, that is the number of snow storms that will come. “I sink”. wonder if nick would remember?
    love,
    mom

    • Mom
    • February 9th, 2010

    I like how you brought up little house because i will always like little house.
    Even though i have read them and mom read them to me too.
    Love,
    Emma

    • Kelly G.
    • February 9th, 2010

    There is a family in Brodhead that has predicted snowfall for years based on the old indian formula. They are usually pretty close. http://gazettextra.com/news/2009/dec/04/above-normal-temps-less-snow-forecast-coming-seaso/

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

