How to make Dulce de Leche

How to make it the easy way, that is.

I’m usually a proponent of making everything the hard way, but on this particular day, I wanted some dulce de leche, and I didn’t want to go the store or spend hours in the kitchen. So I cheated. And I documented it, so everyone will know that I cheated.

Here’s what you need to make dulce de leche (the easy way)

  • 1 can of sweetened condensed milk

That’s it! Seriously. Oh, and a microwave.

Pour the sweetened condensed milk into a large microwave safe bowl. Very large, if you have one. The milk will foam up considerably at first.

Microwave on medium (not high) for 2 minutes, then whisk.

Microwave again on medium for 2 minutes, then whisk.  Continue microwaving and stirring for 6-8 minutes, or until milk looks like this.

See how it’s starting to look a little curdle-y? Stir it up and nuke it again. Next it will look like this.

Mmmm, curdled milk.  Don’t worry, your whisk will whip it back into (smooth) shape.

The milk has almost turned into dulce de leche at this point, but I gave it one more minute in the microwave just to be sure. I wanted it a little more golden and caramel-y.

Ah, perfect. Be careful, the dulce de leche is ridiculously HOT. It hardens up pretty fast as it cools though, so get it into a jar and then do this.

And this.

And, forgive me, this.

  1. Wow pretty amazing… especially considering simply ordering my coffee proved difficult yesterday;
    http://grabacupwithstan.com/2010/01/14/lost-in-translation

    • Mom
    • January 17th, 2010

    That looks really good Ali. Will you make me some? Please?LoveEmma

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

