Adoption and Nesting

I’m not sure, but I think I may be nesting. Either that or I need to work more. Or just get out of the house more.  Or get a hobby. No, it can’t be that, I have lots of hobbies.

So. Nesting. Not having ever experienced traditional pregnancy induced nesting, I can’t be positive that am indeed experiencing “nesting,” but I’m a confident self-diagnoser. I have nesting. Adoptive parent nesting.

It all started last week in my sister-in-law’s bedroom. She innocently mentioned to me that she needed to organize and get rid of some of the clutter in her room. It was like somebody flipped a switch in me. I immediately started pulling things out of the closet, opening her armoire, pulling notebooks off shelves, and before she even knew what had hit her, I had two piles already started in the middle of her floor: donate and throw away.

Ever since that fateful night I have had the strongest urges to organize! I do like to keep things pretty organized and neat, but anyone who has been to our house recently knows that we have 2 junk baskets in the living room, a perpetual pile of junk mail and bills on the piano, and books, Bibles, pieces of paper, and remotes on the coffee table.

Not anymore.

Oh no. Even the junk baskets are organized now. One is for Dave’s keys and whatever else comes out of his pockets at the end of the day, and the other, quite practically, holds scarves and gloves.

The really sad part of this story is that I can’t find anything else to rearrange, organize or throw away! The guest bedroom (future baby room) is immaculate. The closet (which used to hold anything that I didn’t want to find a permanent home for) is empty.  All of our fine china is finally out of that closet and in our kitchen cupboards.  I had to rearrange all of our dishes to make it all fit – and I was glad to do it!

I’ve gone through all our clothes and bagged up all the excess for the consignment store. I reorganized my dresser drawers. And the linen closet. And our walk in closet. And the tupperware drawer. Yes, the tupperware drawer.

And today, at a new all time low, I took apart the toaster oven and scrubbed each piece.

Somebody, please, anybody, stop me! My house can’t take much more of this.

  1. nesting hasnt settled in yet for me so how about you come on over to my house and help me !:0) lol

  2. Yep, sounds like nesting to me! Only you are fortunate to not be hugely pregnant while trying to scrub that last spot behind the toilet or reach that last scrap of clothing in the back of the closet. So if it would help YOU…because that’s what I’m all about here…you are very welcome to come on over and I just might let you sort through my junk piles. They’re growing rapidly these days!

  3. Just found your blog. :o)

    Definitely nesting!!!!!

    My non-profit recently published a new book on Chinese adoptive parenting that has some similar stories. “The Dragon Sisterhood: A Guide to Chinese Adoptive Parenting”.

    It can be found on our blog:

    http://www.dragonsisterhood.blogspot.com

    I thought you might be interested.

    • Ellis
    • January 13th, 2010

    Yikes. Dave-Firmly crush two sleeping pills, and dump them in her next coffee fix. The end.

    • Kathleen Flowers
    • January 13th, 2010

    Ali, please come help me organize my closets! I need some of your left-over nesting energy over here! : )

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

