Snow Day in Tennessee

Our poor county, and state, and heck, the whole South in general, always takes a lot of flack when it snows. And the reason?

They cancel school the night before it snows.

But honestly, I might do the same. When there are no snow plows, how are the buses supposed to run safely? I wouldn’t want one of my kids riding a big yellow bus through unplowed streets. And what’s winter without a snow day or two? But I digress.

What I really want to talk about are the radio stations. Why do they feel like it’s a good idea to play Carrie Underwood’s “Jesus Take the Wheel” when there is an inch of unplowed snow on the ground?

Let’s take a little listen to the lyrics.

She had a lot on her mind and she didn’t pay attention
She was going way too fast
Before she knew it she was spinning
On a thin black sheet of glass

She saw both their lives flash before her eyes
She didn’t even have time to cry
She was so scared
She threw her hands up in the air

Jesus, take the wheel
Take it from my hands
Cause I can’t do this on my own

Ok, that’s enough.

I heard this song twice on my 30 minute drive home tonight. Is this the kind of driving advice the DJ’s are giving out?

Hit a patch of ice? Here’s what to do: Throw your hands up in the air and sing a 30 second chorus before you steer to the side of the road.

Great idea. Fabulous. Drive fast, don’t pay attention, and if you start to skid, throw those hands up in the air.

To quote the Professor from The Lion, the Witch, and the Wardrobe, “What do they teach in school these days?”

  1. Brilliant…

    • Suzanne Rohloff
    • January 8th, 2010

    I would like to know why anyone would play it any time, or record it for that matter.

  2. hello! glad you found my blog! THanks for your comment! I will add your blog to my list to start following! enjoy the journey!

  3. that mrsevgtobe was ellis, not me. and btw, I pulled a Carrie Underwood yesterday and landed Ellis and I 4 feet deep in a ditch of snow. Bad idea Carrie, bad idea.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

