Why Ethiopia?

It’s adoption week here at HuYoung Heaven. So if you came here looking for a gap filled recipe or pictures of half big macs, you might be sad. But you’ll get over it.

A lot of people have asked us “Why Ethiopia?” While we haven’t officially decided on Ethiopia, it does keep trying to steal the limelight. So, here are some reasons that Ethiopia keeps getting bumped to the top of the list.

1. We qualify to adopt from Ethiopia. We had originally thought we wanted to adopt from an Asian or Eurasian country; we selfishly wanted a child that would look like it could have been born into our family. Talk about closed doors. China requires parents to be 30; the Philippines 27. We can only adopt an older child from Taiwan, or only a child with special needs from Hong Kong.  Kyrgyzstan, where we have great contacts thanks to Dave’s grandfather, is closed. Are you beginning to the get the picture? When we research country requirements, all roads lead us to Ethiopia.

2. It just keeps getting placed before us. I do a lot of blog stalking, particularly adoption blogs. I can’t tell you the number of times I click on a link only to find that the family is adopting from Ethiopia. I’ve started to see Ethiopian children everywhere. I even blog stalked (for 2 weeks) a lady with a new Ethiopian daughter only to run into her at a local preschool. Her son is in the same class as 1 of the girls that I nanny. So now I read her blog and see her twice a week at pickup!

3. The need is great. 4.3 million orphans. 4.3 million children living without parents. Without clean water. Without enough food to eat. Without someone to tell them “I love you.” 46% of Ethiopia’s population is under the age of 15 (US=20%). Infant mortality rate is 80/1000 births(US=6/1000). Life expectancy is 55 years (US=78 years). I know you can find stats like these for many third world countries (thanks CIA Factbook) but this country is becoming real to us. These kids are real to us.

4. This Bible passage. This reason is a bit more obscure and open to interpretation. I ran across this passage on an adoption blog. Isaiah 43:5-7

Fear not, for I am with you;
I will bring your descendants from the east,
And gather you from the west;
I will say to the north, ‘Give them up!’
And to the south, ‘Do not keep them back!’
Bring My sons from afar,
And My daughters from the ends of the earth—
Everyone who is called by My name,
Whom I have created for My glory;
I have formed him, yes, I have made him.”

So I decided to look it up in my Bible.  Look what’s mentioned in verse 3.

For I am the LORD your God,
The Holy One of Israel, your Savior;
I gave Egypt for your ransom,
Ethiopia and Seba in your place.

Ethiopia….hmmmm……

    • Ellis
    • December 15th, 2009

    Amen to that.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

