Vintage

When I was about 10 years old I was given a few boxes of old books.  These were books that belonged to my dad’s side of the family – his parents, aunts, cousins, etc.

IMG_5916

IMG_5919

I was in heaven.  Two of my passions: books and history, together.

Those books followed me around during my growing up years. I read them, loved them, tried to imagine the lives of the people who read them before me.

Some have names inscribed.   Ellis Van Gilder.  My Grandpa.

IMG_5920

Lorena. 1948. My great aunt (Ellis’ sister). But who is Grandma Van? I’m assuming that is my grandpa’s grandma, but I don’t even know her name. Thanks for the book though, Great Great Grandma. It’s still in the family.
IMG_5921

Betty Ellis. Theora Ellis was my great grandmother, but who is Betty?

IMG_5924

Ahhh, the beginning of my love affair with old westerns. Louis L’amour will always be my favorite, but Zane Grey started it all.

IMG_5925

I really heart books.

  1. great post! I had no idea those books meant that much…

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

