Knitting for Money

I’m not sure how I feel about this.

I love knitting, and I love making money, but I don’t know if I like them together.

A friend from church asked me if I would knit her 2 pair of fingerless gloves. She would buy the yarn and give me the pattern, I would make them, and she would pay me for my time.

Sounds simple. And fingerless gloves?  Kid stuff.  I’ve made 3 or 4 pairs of fingerless gloves from a much more complicated pattern for myself and as gifts . No sweat.

Before I even cast on the first stitches I began to get nervous. My needles are 2 sizes smaller than the pattern calls for.  What if that makes the gloves too small for her?  How long does she want the ribbing? Does she want them to be really tight or do tight gloves drive her crazy?

I drove myself crazy with this line of thinking.

IMG_5840

I finally got the dang things started, freaked out that they would be too small, tore it out, started over with more stitches, and made a fingerless glove. Good grief, Charlie Brown.

I’m not sure I can handle this stress. I don’t like being a perfectionist.

IMG_5836

    • mom
    • November 7th, 2009

    cute! “You can do it,Ben!”you did it!

  1. wow, you’re talented…I have no talent besides blogging and raising babies…thanks for your comment..I truly appreciate it and let me know if I can ever answer any questions about adoption for you, kristi

    • nenabonny
    • November 10th, 2009

    They turned out great! I cannot tell you the number of scarves or shawls I started than uncast and started over.

    These rock!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

