Lessons from an old farmhouse

I grew up in the country.  I grew up in a farmhouse in the country.  I grew up in a great big, old, drafty farmhouse in the country.  And while I can’t say I loved every minute of it then, I absolutely love it in retrospect. If nothing else, it taught me to be grateful for electrical outlets, air conditioning, and wood floors that don’t snag your socks (and skin).

Lesson 1. Don’t be afraid of extension cords.

They are your friend.  The second floor of our house had 4 rooms and 2 electrical outlets. You can do the math. We ran a LOT of extension cords.

From my room to across my room. From my room to my brother’s room. From my parent’s room to the bathroom. You get the idea.

And you know what? We never burned our house down in an electrical fire. We even drilled through the floor of my bedroom to run electricity from an upstairs outlet to a ceiling fan in the dining room below. I’m not even really sure how that works. I just now it happened.

Remember, there is no such thing as too many extension cords. Make peace with your extension cords, people. They will enrich your life.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

