Independence and Stupidity

41BP9J11SYL._SL500_AA240_I Can Do It Myself

Raise your hand if you read Golden Books as a child.

That’s what I thought.

My mom used to read me this book all the time. It fosters independence you know. “I can tie my shoes, I can do it myself.”

Sometimes, though, it’s good to do things not by yourself. With others, if you will. Sesame Street may have misled us just a little bit with this one.

Take, for instance, the time I decided to move thisIMG_5663 full size couch from the sunroom to Dave’s drum room. While he was at work. Through the dining room, down the hall, and around a sharp turn into the bedroom. I had to tip that bad boy up on its end and edge it through the doorway. I could have been crushed at any second. I started regretting the whole idea right about when the couch got jammed in the doorway. But there was no way I would quit and let Dave find me barricaded by the couch in his drum room. I can do it myself!

Here’s a Golden Book I would like to see: I Can Let Others Help Me. It’s just as important to learn to accept help as it is to do things on your own. Don’t believe me? Ask my back.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

